It’s time for you to play pilot of your life

As a little girl, I always heard the saying “life won’t be a walk in the park.” I never knew what that meant until I grew older. I have to say now being 21 years old, life is difficult, unpredictable and will take you on a rollercoaster ride. At age 17, I lost my dad from a short battle of cancer. And in that moment, I thought my life was over.

It’s been five years and I would do anything to spend just 10 minutes with him. The pain doesn’t just disappear, it still lingers within. Through the years it has taken a lot of adjusting. I thank my mom and sister for being there every step of the way.

I always envisioned that he would have been there for my high school graduation, moving into college to giving me away at my wedding. Although at times I run into bumps in the road, I remember him saying “you got this Allana.”

He gave me a foundation to continue with life by thriving and motivating others along the way. The idea is to represent the last name Barefield with pride and dignity.

Whether you lost someone, going through a breakup or any tough situation, I’m telling you everything will be okay. I’m not saying it will be easy, but you can’t have the situation break you.

Every day , I set about five minutes to the side to close my eyes and reevaluate my life. I might focus on my accomplishments, my schedule for the rest of the day to how I can improve myself. Also, sometimes reminders are beyond helpful so you won’t get distracted or timid along the way. Personally before I leave my room, I acknowledge the sticky notes I put on my door. Each sticky note has a motivational quote or a goal I want to accomplish this week or in my life.

So no matter how hard life gets, you have to play pilot for a second and get your life under control. Remember you’re the one in control of yourself. You make the executive decisions. And if you need to get negativity out of your life then do it.

Make time for yourself. No more hurt. No more pain.

-Allana B.

xoxo

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

