Eating Right Even When You Have a Full Plate

Going to college can be a difficult time. From late nights, cramming to study for a test to maintaining a social life, its all a juggling act. But the biggest obstacle I have come across is being healthy during my college experience. I have to say, eating in the cafeteria is a dangerous place, especially when you’re a freshman.

When leaving for college, my mom would always say, “be careful of the freshman 15” and I didn’t understand what she meant, until I walked onto campus. Although the first year can be risky, there have been studies that college students continue to gain weight all the way up to graduation.

Being in college for almost two years, I can proudly say I didn’t gain the “freshman 15″. So, you’re probably asking yourself how I didn’t from the unlimited servings, dessert table, and living in New Orleans with all the southern food. The truth is that even though I take about 18 hours every semester, I still try to make time for myself by exercising.

Although it can be difficult to go to the gym because in the back of your mind you’re worrying about a test the next day, there still should be no excuses. From now on, start having the motivation to drink more water, make better eating choices and take the longer way to class so you can get your exercise in.

School is difficult. School can be stressful, but it’s not the time to lose yourself, but to prosper. Gaining weight can cause depression, anxiety and many other disorders. Follow these tips down below to start making a change.

Tips for a healthier lifestyle

  1. Buy an agenda book- plan out your week
  2. Drink more water
  3. Decrease eating fast food
  4. Go to the gym… need motivation? Go with a friend or try a Spin or Zumba class
  5. Workout at least 3 times a week
  6. Make time for yourself- getting your hair done or a night on the town
img_3847
Photographer: Allana Barefield
Leave a Reply

