From Color to Print makes Yasmine Davis

fullsizerender-8“I have always believed that fashion was not only to make women more beautiful, but also to reassure them, give them confidence.” — Yves Saint Laurent

Q & A: An interview with Yasmine Davis

As I took a moment and looked around New Orleans, I noticed that this humid quirky place has a lot of characteristics that make the city unique. For instance, the food, culture, people, music and I can’t forget the fashion.

Local designers and bloggers have been changing the fashion game by going out of the box and adding bold colors to even exotic prints.

I had a chance to meet up with New Orleanian blogger Yasmine Davis to talk about how she started blogging to now having her own clothing line. She’s only 29 years old and is a blogger, influencer and business owner.

Tell me a little about yourself?

My name is Yasmine Davis and I love fashion. I’m obsessed with all things fashion wise. I didn’t realize fashion was my thing until I started going to school. I went to LSU in 2005 and graduated in 2010. But I would always dress up and I didn’t think about it until someone told me why you always dressing up for class and I still get that response till this day.

What was the first blog that inspired you?

The Young, Black, and Fabulous (YBF) and that was in 2005. She does celebrity gossip. I wasn’t on the site to learn about their personal stuff but I was there to look at what they were wearing. And 2005 was a time where blogs were starting and you can see that they are big now.

 When did you start your fashion blog and why? 

In 2014. It was called Yazzle Dazzle.com. I started it out of being lost. I graduated college with a degree in Psychology I didn’t know what I want to do but I knew those things weren’t speaking to my heart. I went to New York for two weeks and I love how they were living out loud through fashion, art and music.

So why did you stay in New Orleans? 

I thought I would love to live in New York, but I realized that New Orleans has something special about it. New Orleans is a great place, full of artists, it’s like a hidden thing.

Who Inspired you to start your blog?

I have this motto that if you look good, then you feel good. So I never wanted to leave out the house if I didn’t feel complete with myself on how I looked.

But who inspired me fashion wise is my mom. She was always into dressing. And for celebrities would be Rhianna. Her style is something I don’t need to describe, she just got this thing about her, a Junoesque. I love her, she’s fashion forward and doesn’t copy. 

You started your blog in 2014, when did you launch your clothing line?

In 2016. So just last year in July.

fullsizerender-7
Yasmine Davis/Photographer:Miesha Williams

Explain your style for your clothing line

My brand  is very much clean, temporary, and you know fun for 22 to 30 year old women. So, I have a lot of prints, florals, jumpsuits and dresses and things you don’t necessary wear to work. It’s like that fine line that you can wear it to work if you wear it right. I hand-pick out everything.

So how have you been connecting your fans from 2014 all away up to this point?

I had to build Yazzle Dazzle followers from scratch. So all I did was take Yazzle Dazzle’s page with all my personal fashion blog stuff and I changed it to Yasmine Davis. Also, tagging helps and social media is very important. You need to know what you’re doing to make it work.

Where do you want to see yourself in 5 years with your blog and company?

I want it to be the leading store for young ladies. I want it to be the store. Yazzle Dazzle.com will be the store they shop like Forever 21 and Nasty Girl.

What advice would you give to upcoming bloggers?

Be consistent with your content and have amazing photos. At first my struggle was the i Phone- have your friend take a picture. But as my following got better and understood blogging better, I was able to get a better picture. Also, don’t turn anyone down and don’t think you need to charge anyone. Do some stuff for free because you’re not there yet.

  

img_3479
Allana Barefield(left) and Yasmine Davis (right)/ Photographer: Allana Barefield

Signing off, 

 Allana B 

xoxo

Leave a Reply

